Rigor is creating an environment in which each student is expected to learn at high levels,
each student is supported so he or she can learn at high levels,
and each student demonstrates learning at high levels (Blackburn, 2008).

Monday, November 25, 2013

Costa's House of Questioning

Costa and Kallick (2008), authors of Learning and Leading With Habits of Mind, provide a different model for questioning. It is a three-level, user-friendly, practical story house to describe the levels of questioning. I’ve observed this model used in several AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination, www.avid .org) classrooms, and it is effective for both students and teachers.

Costa’s House of Questions

Level one (lowest)—gather information

Complete, identify, recite, define, list, select, describe, observe.
Level Two (middle)—process information

Compare, contrast, classify, sort, distinguish, explain, infer, analyze.

Level three (highest)—apply information

Evaluate, generalize, imagine, judge, predict, speculate, if/then, hypothesize, forecast.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your interest. Due to an increase in spam, all comments are now moderated by the site administrator.